Notable CFR Membership

A Cursory Listing of Just a Select Few of its Members



Many of our major network news anchors and media members belong to the CFR.

NBC's Brian Williams is a member. So is CBS's Katie Couric, ABC's Diane Sawyer, and MSNBC's Mika Brzezinski. Former anchors Dan Rather (CBS) and Tom Brokaw (NBC) are also members. Other media members include Bob Schieffer (CBS), Barbara Walters (ABC), Judy Woodruff (CNN), Paula Zahn (CNN), Lesley Stahl (CBS 60-M Minutes), George R. Stephanopoulos (ABC), Jim Lehrer (PBS), David R. Gergen, (CNN), Fareed Zakaria (CNN), Terry Moran (ABC), Charlie Rose (PBS), Rupert Murdoch (NewsCorp/FOX), Bernard Kalb (CNN), Morton Kondracke (The McLaughlin Group/Roll Call), and Garrick Utley (NBC/CNN).

Print journalists and columnists include Katrina vanden Heuvel (The Nation), Peggy Noonan (Wall Street Journal), David Schlesinger (Reuters), Judith Miller (NY Times), Gene Lyons (Salon),  Charles Krauthammer (Columnist), Marc A. Thiessen (columnist), David E. Sanger (NY Times), David Remnick (The New Yorker), Jack Rosenthal (NY Times), P.J. O'Rourke (Columnist), James L. McGregor (Journalist), Jon Meacham (Newsweek/PBS), Daniel P. Henninger (Wall Street Journal/FOX), Jim Hoagland (Washington Post), David B. Ensor (Journalist), Monica Crowley (Talk-Radio), Sidney S. Blumenthal (Salon), and Mark Helprin (Time), to name but a few.

There are indeed more media members. This is just the short list of high-profile members.

Here is a listing of others that are part of the CFR, including district judges, a Supreme Court judge, noted politicians, military officials, industrial tycoons, the ultra-rich, sports commissioners, and even Hollywood notables.

Grover G. Norquist
Janet Napolitano
John D. Negroponte
Condoleezza Rice
Dick Cheney
Richard B. Myers
Robert M. Gates
John Deutch
Elliott Abrams
Madeleine K. Albright
John Alexander
Dick Clark
Michael R. Bloomberg
George Soros
Timothy F. Geithner
Alan Greenspan
Dianne Feinstein
Thomas S. Foley
Richard A. Gephardt
Newton L. Gingrich
Ruth Bader Ginsburg
Charles N. Goldman
Guido Goldman
Marshall I. Goldman
Merle D. Goldman
Neal D. Goldman
Harold E. Ford Jr.
William H. Frist
William H. Danforth
Thomas A. Daschle
Christopher J. Dodd
Jim Baker
Rudy Boschwitz
F. Stephen Larrabee (Rand Corp/NSC)
Joseph I. Lieberman
Walter F. Mondale
Haley Barbour
Bob Graham
Marc Grossman
Caroline Kennedy
Edward Kennedy Jr.
Jesse Jackson
Gary Hart
Teresa Heinz Kerry
David M. Rubenstein (Carlyle Group)
David Rockefeller
David Rockefeller Jr.
John D. Rockefeller IV
Lynn Forester de Rothschild
Mark F. Brzezinski
Mika Brzezinski
Zbigniew Brzezinski

Charles F. MacCormack (Save The Children)

Michael Douglas
George Clooney
Warren Beatty
Angelina Jolie
Robert L. Rosen
John Spencer

Paul Tagliabu (NFL)
David Stern (NBA)

(See more here)

Return to